The architectual monument „Small Guild” is located in the very heart of Old Riga. The building is designed by eminent Riga city`s architect Johanness Daniel Felsko under whose guidance the construction was started on 22th May 1864 by setting in the foundation stone where the newspapers of those days, a calendar, an adress-book, signatures from all seniors of the Guild and from all seniors of crafts-corporations, a short chronicle of St. John’s Guild and various other documents were contained.
Just beside the Small Guild, the shelter house of Small Guild members was built already in 1855 by the project of the same architect. The house was rebuilt in 1901 adjusting the rooms for the needs of craftsman school. Both houses have been connected and make whole complex in the strict sense as well as metaphorically for more than 100 years.
On 9th February 1866 the new Small Guild building was solemnly consecrated. The further reconstruction and interior decoration was resumed in 1888. The main reconstruction initiator of the Small Guild was the senior, Fridrich Brunstermann. The Small Guild house was built as a location place of rooms for crafts-corporations, ceremonies and representations where the disposition of rooms has developed gradually, supplementing it in the course of time with donations and gifts of separate crafts corporations.
In 1999-2000, the renovation and restoration of the Small Guild was conducted. Nearly all of the decoration of Small Guild is done in accordance with the documents and photographies of the last quarter of the 19th century.
Nowadays the building of the Small Guild is rather precisely characterised by the final quotation of the 1936 issue – “ This building offers us a unique picture of the art of old Riga crafts corporation, a true example of citizenship and unselfishness. Also the present refined looks of these luxurious interior rooms of the building are of high arts and historical value as a document of our oldest and recent arts culture…”